Reported Speech

If we report what another person has said, we usually do not use the speaker’s exact words (direct speech).
What speech do you use?

Reported (indirect) speech

How to transform it, then?
When transforming statements, check whether you have to change:
* pronouns
* present tense verbs (3rd person singular)
* place and time expressions
* tenses (backshift)

Get it?

Now, How do you change this direct speech?

1. He said, “I love you”.
Change:
* pronouns
I become the person who says that = He
you become the object = me
* tenses (backshift)
Simple present => Simple Past
So, the overall sentence becomes
He said (that) he loved me.

1. Stephen and Claire stated “We have cleaned the windows.”

The answer :
=> Stephen and Claire stated that they had cleaned the windows.
2. Mr Jones told me, “My mother will be 50 years old.”

The answer
=> Mr Jones told me that  his mother would be 50 years old.

Tinggalkan Balasan

